Institution of Lectors

The Rite of the Institution of Lectors took place at Notre Dame Seminary in the chapel on Wednesday, October 25. Bishop Martin D. Holly of the Diocese of Memphis presided at the Mass for the Institution of Lectors. The Rite of Institution of Lectors is one of the ministries a seminarian must receive before ordination to the Diaconate and Priesthood. Those given the ministry of Lector are entrusted with reading the Sacred Scriptures during Mass and the Liturgy of the Hours. Each seminarian receiving the ministry of Lector were instructed by Bishop Holly, “Take this book of holy Scripture and be faithful in handing on the word of God, so that it may grow strong in the hearts of his people.” In his homily, Bishop Holly reminded those to be instituted of the power of God’s Word to change lives and the responsibility that comes with that proclamation in assimilating the Word of God into their hearts. There were 26 seminarians installed as Lectors:

From the Diocese of Alexandria, Thomas Kennedy.

From the Archdiocese of Atlanta, TJ Capaldi and Joey Martineck.

From the Diocese of Baton Rouge, Taylor Sanford.

From the Diocese of Dallas, Elijiah Thomson.

From the Diocese of Jackson, Franklin Eke.

From the Diocese of Lafayette, Casey Dugas and Connor Poirrier.

From the Diocese of Lake Charles, Michael Beverung.

From the Diocese of Memphis, Casey Weber.

From the Diocese of Nashville, Juan Carlos Garcia-Mendoza.

From the Archdiocese of New Orleans, Bryan DeVillier, Robert Frank, Ajani Gibson, Michael Lamy, William Mumphrey, Dennis Obienu, Truong Pham, and Andrew Sanchez.

From the Diocese of Shreveport, Raney Johnson and Jeb Key.

From the Diocese of Tyler, David Bailey, Cristian Casado-Carmona, AJ Motte, and Nick Nappier.

From the Diocese of Yendi, Thomas Bamoah.